RSS Feed

A Cry for Help & Chicken Fried Rice

Internet friends: I need your help. The following is a microwave rice cooker thing. My friend claims she got it at Target, but I’ve looked every time I’ve gone for the last two years to no avail. What is this called? Where can I get one? Please tell me. It’s magical.

Speaking of magical rice…

If you can make rice and scramble eggs, you can make this rice. It’s the perfect dish to make at the beginning of the week and bring for lunch or heat up in a pinch for dinner. The best part is that you can customize it to taste however you want. I used chicken, peas and baby corn because it’s what I had on hand. You can add any veggie or meat you please. Choose your own adventure!

You know what I learned from this experience? I need a bigger skillet. Or I need to put less rice in it…because I made a mess.

Chicken Fried Rice

Serves 8

1 lb. chicken breast, cut into bite-size pieces

5 c. jasmine or white rice, cooked

1 small bag frozen peas

1 can baby corn, drained and cut into bite-size pieces

2 tbsp. sesame oil + 1 tsp.

1/4 c. soy sauce + 2 tbsp.

3 eggs, lightly beaten

Instructions: In a shallow dish, lay chicken pieces. Whisk together 2 tbsp. soy sauce and 1 tsp. sesame oil. Cover chicken and let sit for a few minutes. In a large skillet or wok, heat 2 tbsp. sesame oil until very hot. Add chicken and cook until almost done, or 3-4 minutes. Remove chicken from skillet and let rest on the side. Soft-scramble eggs and use a spatula to break into small pieces. Add peas to skillet and let cook for a minute or so (or until they aren’t frozen anymore.. sorry for the imprecise time measurements). Add rice, corn and remaining soy sauce and let cook throughout. Finally, add chicken and stir until fully combined. Remove from heat and serve!

About deceptivedomestic

New England-born, Chicago-residing public relations associate, enthusiastic bruncher, book lover, recipe writer.

3 responses »

  1. At the risk of being decried as unhelpful I do believe that little thing is called a microwave rice cooker. My nana used to swear by them. Try Big W and Kmart. I have an electric rice cooker and use it probably 3 times a week – I couldn’t live without it. Good luck!

    Reply
  2. Hello, I have it and I still use it. I bought it ten years ago at Walmart. Trust me, it is a wonderful and easy to use kitchen item. I bought few years later another one as a gift to my nephew. The following year, I looked again for my niece. Gone for good and since that day, I have been looking. I see similar item at Sears, Walmart, Target websites. It is microwave rice cooker. Mine can cook easily three cups of uncooked rice. Pre-wash rice and add plus 4.5 cups of water (for one cup of uncooked rice, need 1.5 cups of water). Microwave for 18-20 minutes. It is done. If you have two cups of rice, make it 12-14 min. You may want to keep a plate underneath while microwaving. If there is any liquid that comes out would get collected. Perfect for small families who eat rice regularly.

    Reply

Leave a comment